Microsoft updates the list of processors compatible with Windows 11

Windows 11 fell in love with many users before its launch, but it was not without controversy. The stringent upgrade requirements, especially in terms of supported processors, gave a lot to talk about. After promising to reconsider your position, Microsoft has updated the list of supported processors with Windows 11 with a small concession: 10 processors of the 7th generation from Intel.

10 Intel processors (and a few more) jump on the Windows 11 bandwagon

The added processors by Microsoft to the supported list are:

  • Intel Core i5-7640X
  • Intel Core i7-7740X
  • Intel Core i7-7800X
  • Intel Core i7-7820HQ
  • Intel Core i7-7820X
  • Intel Core i7-7900X
  • Intel Core i7-7920X
  • Intel Core i9-7940X
  • Intel Core i9-7960X
  • Intel Core i9-7980XE

In addition, the Redmonds have promised that they will add more series processors soon. Intel Xeon W, although they have not yet specified which ones. The company also confirmed that after analyzing the processors of the series AMD Ryzen 1000, came to the conclusion, with the manufacturer, that they would not add new processors to the list of compatible processors.

Microsoft clarified that devices with the processor Intel Core i7-7820HQ they must meet DHC driver standards or they will not be able to upgrade to Windows 11. This shows that Microsoft has gone the extra mile to include this processor because it is the one that uses the Surface Studio 2 but they are fully aware that many manufacturers who have integrated it into their equipment do not meet the DHC standard they demand.

Despite all of this, it’s not all bad news. Microsoft has also confirmed that it will allow users to manually switch to Windows 11 even if they have a computer that is not officially supported. These users will not receive the update through Windows Update but will be able to install the operating system through ISO or Media Creation Tool.